The Trebor Factory


The Trebor Factory

The site of the original Trebor factory, home of Refreshers.

Location: Katherine Road, Forest Gate

Description: In 1907 four young men set up a new business Robertson and Woodcock here to boil sugar, and make sweets, from sugar bought from Henry Tate in Canning Town.

The four were Thomas King, a wholesale grocer, and William Woodcock, both from Limehouse and a sugar boiler, Robert Robertson, a retail grocer from Canning Town and Sydney Herbert Marks, a sweets salesman from Leytonstone.

By 1915 they became one of the very first manufacturing businesses in London to use motorised transport for their collections and deliveries. Rationing hit them hard and by 1918 the company changed its name from Robertson & Woodcock to Trebor - probably because it was situated next to a row of Victorian terraced residential houses in Trebor Terrace.

In 1935 the Trebor factory produced and launched the iconic Refreshers sweet, and two years later Extra Strong Mints. Both of which are going strong today.

Themes: FoodFood Theme  IndustryIndustry Theme
The Trebor Factory

The site of the original Trebor factory, home of Refreshers.

Ranking This Month: 91/2930

Pages Hit This Month: 48


Other places nearby:


London's Oldest Indian», 7.8km

Goddess Mrs Beeton lived here», 18.km

Tarts and Pornography», 6.1km

London's Best Tea Room», 13.km

The Toll Gate Cafe», 7.6km

M. Manze...pie and mash», 6.0km

Vinopolis - glorious plonk!», 6.0km

Wapping Food Power Station», 4.6km

Eurythmics first met here», 9.2km

Yuletide Food with French Flair», 6.0km

Location Pinpointed: